Tag - Nationals of and residents in an African country

Eldred-Waverley Scholarship at Linacre College, Oxford

Oxford University
Masters Degrees

Deadline: 23 Jan 2015 (annual)
Study in:  UK
Course starts October 2015

Brief description:

The Eldred-Waverley Scholarship funds students from sub-Saharan Africa to study the MSc African Studies at Oxford.

Host Institution(s):

Linacre College, University of Oxford in United Kingdom

Fields of study:

MSc African Studies

Number of Awards:

One (1)

Target group:

Students who are ordinarily  resident in sub-Saharan Africa

Scholarship value/inclusions:

100% of University and college fees, a grant for living costs (at least £10,397) and a return flight to/from the UK

Eligibility/Selection Criteria:

You should be applying to start the MSc African Studies at Oxford and you must be ordinarily resident in sub-Saharan Africa. You should be intending to return to your country of ordinary residence once your course is completed.  Scholarships will be awarded on the basis of academic merit.

Application instructions:

There is no separate application process for this scholarship: in order to be considered, you must submit your application for graduate study by 23 January 2015.

It is important to visit the official website (link found below) for detailed information on how to apply for this scholarship.


Official Scholarship Website: http://www.ox.ac.uk/admissions/graduate/fees-and-funding/graduate-scholarships/university-wide-scholarships/eldred-waverley-scholarship-linacre-college

Ferguson Scholarships for Africans at SOAS London

Allan and Nesta Ferguson Charitable Trust
Masters Degree

Deadline: 22 Feb 2017
Study in: London, UK
Course starts September 2017

Brief description:

The Allan and Nesta Ferguson Charitable trust offers scholarships to African Students (African nationals and resident in Africa), who wish to undertake a taught masters course at SOAS.

Host Institution(s):

SOAS University of London

Level/Field(s) of study:

•  Full-time MA African Studies
•  Full-time MA International Studies and Diplomacy
•  Full-time MA Social Anthropology of Development

Number of Scholarships:

Three (3)

Target group:

Nationals of and residents in an African country.

Scholarship value/duration:

Each Ferguson Scholarship is valued at £25,000 in total and lasts for one year. The scholarships can be used for fees and the remainder towards maintenance.


Applicants should:

•  Be nationals of and resident in an African country

•  Hold an undergraduate degree at the first class level

• Hold an offer of admission to pursue one of the eligible programmes by the scholarship deadline.  Priority may be given to applicants with unconditional offers.  If your offer is conditional, please ensure you meet the conditions as soon as possible.

• Applicants must meet the English language condition of their offer of admission to study at SOAS as soon as possible but no later than 1 June 2017.  If your offer is conditional on English, please arrange your English test and ensure you meet the English requirement as soon as possible.

Application instructions:

You must submit a complete online application to your programme as soon as possible and then submit an application for the scholarship.  Applicants applying for scholarships must also submit an application for admission well in advance, six weeks BEFORE the scholarship deadline (that is, by 11 January 2017). Scholarship applications must be received no later than 17:00 (UK local time) on 22 February 2017.

It is important to visit the official website (link found below) to access the application form and for detailed information on how to apply for this scholarship.


Official Scholarship Website: http://www.soas.ac.uk/registry/scholarships/ferguson-scholarships.html